Wok ‘n’ Roll

I haven’t posted a recipe here for aaaages.  I find that now I’m single and living alone(apart from the sprog, that is), cooking has become a bit of a challenge. I end up eating with my son at ridiculous times (11am and 6pm), and often just make very child-friendly food. I miss having someone around to dine with, especially as I am yet to master the art of cooking for one.

This here is probably my favourite new invention, and it’s dead easy to make it just for myself, or increase the size for more people. I decided I wanted to try and make a Vietnamese-y inspired noodle soup because I miss going up to Kingsland Road and gorging on Far Eastern flavours. I’m sure there’s nothing authentically Vietnamese about it at all, but be easy on me. I am just a single mum in South London, for crying out loud. The quantities below make enough for one very hungry person or two not very hungry people. Don’t you just love my precision?

Ingredients:

1 inch fresh ginger, chopped into little pieces

2-3 chopped spring onions

1/2 Fennel Bulb, Chopped roughly

1 Handful chopped coriander

1 stem Lemongrass

1 tbsp Hot Chilli Sauce

1tbsp Soy Sauce

1 tbsp Brown Miso Paste

1/2 cup of prawns

1 sheet of fine egg noodles

1 head pak choi, chopped roughly

about 1 pint of water

squeeze of lemon.

Method and Madness:

Boil the water; chuck in the noodles and prawns,  then the ginger and lemongrass and fennel, then add the remaining ingredients except for the miso one minute or so before the noodles are cooked. When the noodles are done (generally around 4 minutes), remove from heat and let it cool down for a couple of minutes, then stir in the miso paste. And voila! Bob’s your uncle. I am a clever girl.

0 Responses to “Wok ‘n’ Roll”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

