An Anonymous Poem Written on a Cemetery Wall in Spain

Poema Espanhol

I read a translation of the above at my father’s funeral the other day. It’s a poem that came to my attention completely randomly, and I thought it said some very meaningful things about life and death. It was found in Gaucin, Spain, and as far as I am aware it is completely anonymous.

I’ve translated it as best as I could.

“Death is nothing. It is merely as if one went to sleep in the adjacent room.

I go on being me, and you go on being you, and we go on being the same to one another.

Follow me calling as you once did, and follow me speaking as you did before.

Go on smiling as if I were still here. Think of me, pray for me and ensure my name is always spoken in a natural manner, without shadows surrounding it.

Death is a natural process and I still go on in your heart, even when you do not see me, I will always be by your side.

Life goes on and all is well.”

1 Response to “An Anonymous Poem Written on a Cemetery Wall in Spain”


  1. 1 Andy January 3, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    Wow…I haven’t visited your blog in quite sometime…but here I am this morning…reading this poem…and I needed it. I’m accepting that I am grieving…and struggling with so many questions…loneliness…all that stuff…and here is this poem.

    I’m glad you stumbled across it…and even more thankful that you translated it for me;) I am sorry to hear about your father…


Leave a Reply

