Scum of the Earth!

I know I haven’t been on the blogosphere for a few days, and that’s been due to a combination of lack of inspiration and feeling like I’m running to stand still. My life hasn’t been a great source of wonder and amazement over this week and I didn’t feel any great urge to communicate. So far, so good.

 

And then I went out last night to the Rhythm Factory in Whitechapel and had a lovely old time with my friends. I walked to Aldgate East station and had just missed the last blimmin’ train. So got nightbus. Got off nightbus. Walked towards my home. All I was thinking is ‘Aaaaaah nearly home, nearly home’. I turn a corner, 30 seconds away from my front door and then BAM!

 

A guy wrestles me to the ground and grapples for my handbag. My blood boils. I resist, start kicking and screaming, trying to get him off me. I get punched and kicked in the stomach. He takes the bag. I run after him, screaming GIVE ME MY FUCKING BAG YOU FAAAAAAAAKIN CAAAAAAAAAAAANT. He jumps into a waiting car in the middle of the road. Speeds off with my precious belongings.

 

I run home with cuts and bruises and anger and tears. Absolutely livid.

 

And what for? Nothing. I had a fiver. My bankcards, cancelled. My mobile phone, blocked.

But to me this will cost a fortune: My make up bag’s contents were probably worth in excess of £100, my keys cost £20 to replace, I might need a new front door lock, a new handbag, a new purse, a new phone.  My credit cards won’t arrive until after Xmas so I can’t buy presents.

 

And I wonder how he feels now that he realises he just beat up a girl for her fucking lipstick?

4 Responses to “Scum of the Earth!”


  1. 1 brigid December 19, 2008 at 11:42 am

    sorry to hear this. Talk about the silly season of love and giving. Its nuts isnt it? Take care.

  2. 2 Jillian Page December 26, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    Gawd, that is awful. The guy really is a scumbag. He’ll get his someday. I hope you’re feeling a little better.

    Jillian

  3. 3 J-Ri February 17, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    That’s terrible! His day is coming…


  1. 1 Rough Around the Edges « The Observations of a Confused Young Woman Trackback on January 2, 2009 at 7:34 pm

Leave a Reply

