Macbook Red, Macbook Green, Macbook Bullying.

So my PC laptop is nearly dying. It keeps switching itself off at the most inopportune moments. I am terrified it will lose my 12.000 words worth of assignments for my finals at uni.

Seduced by the sleekness of the Macbook(particularly the Macbook Air, which is *just a little* above my budget), I decided to start doing some research into purchasing one of the more basic models…

I came across this page where a disgruntled Macbook user complains about the appalling customer service she has received after her spanking new computer was possessed by some kind of poltergeist. She even claims that she was burnt on the arm as one of the cables melted! Ouch!

  

Needless to say, Professional Housegirlie here was stupefied by the bad review, especially as most people seem to wank over their pieces of Macintosh machinery – But what really surprised me were the comments in response to this reviewer’s complaints!!!

  

Evidently, the disputes between Mac and Pc users are a thoroughly well-documented phenomena(although in my experience I can safely say that Mac users are much more doggedly defiant – and smug – about the superiority of their hardware. It is part of the reason why I am interested in going Apple.), I was still quite shocked by the extent of Macbook bullying going on. It was almost like complaining about Mac’s services was akin to blasphemy, like the act of purchasing an Apple computer involved signing up to a radical religious cult.

  

As a result, I feel slightly divided… The research continues, and I probably will end up with a beautifully designed, speedy piece of trendy electronic gadgetry at the end of it. But the long and short of it is that I am scared: On one hand, if it all goes tits up, I might have a similar experience to the disgruntled reviewer; on the other, I might become an uptight technological bitch. Life is full of pivotal decisions.

To Mac, or not to Mac?

3 Responses to “Macbook Red, Macbook Green, Macbook Bullying.”


  1. 1 Omar April 2, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    Take it from an (ex)Software engineer – you do not want a Mac. Without going into detail you can spend the same money on a much better Windows based laptop. Mac is like buying from DKNY when you can happily pop into Primani and get the same stitching quality but without the big name sticking out of it 😉 Its true that they’re pretty and pretty is good thus it all comes down to budget. If can wait a little longer there’s a few good things coming out.
    Another point on Macs – they like making everything Mac! Much like Sony do with all their accessories if you needed any additions it would have to be Apple based which means you would get the same but much dearer.

    I am not a fan of Mac nor Windows but I can’t expect everyone to go Unix….which is free.

    • 2 Cris May 16, 2009 at 9:39 pm

      I used a windows for my entire life. Meaning, to stay relevant, I had to buy a new computer every some-odd years after one stopped working, or suddenly became incompatible with windows(weird, right?). After my third Vista laptop, I got fed up and went to the apple store and fell in love with the iMac. I’m in no way a fanatic, but I get mad when people say that the macs are all about ascetics. The whole computer is *built* by the people who make the OS, so it works flawlessly together, unlike a Dell, or HP, where you are buying from a manufacturer getting assorted parts, possibly old, made by japanese companies, shoving them in a box, and hoping they work with the software.

      What Omar says about needing Apple accessories, I can’t even try to understand. The iMac has everything included except office, which costs the same as getting it on a pc (frankly, I like it better on my mac!) Any appliances that I have, such as cameras, usb drives, etc. have all transitioned perfectly.

  2. 3 Professional Housegirlfriend April 2, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    Thanks dude. Seriously. I made the awful mistake of buying a Sony mp3 player. Big mistake. What a pain in the arse.


Leave a Reply

